it belongs to me

just me

#PeopleAroundUs: $1 Smile

with one comment


It’s always been a great feeling to see a smile in people’s faces.

What can I do with $1? I could buy a bunch of candy; I could buy a small pack of Payday snack from the vending; I could buy a bottle of water; and I can put a smile on a sad face. I did use my $1 much worth than I’ve ever done before.

I have a trip to Minneapolis, MN to visit Opa & Oma Geary today. The bus was scheduled to leave at 10:45 A.M from Appleton. I was there at the bus office a hour before the bus leave to issue my ticket. I had about 45 minutes to borrow a book from the public library as my ‘friend’ in that trip. I was back to the station 20 minutes before the scheduled time.

A woman came after me when I was about to buy some snacks from the vending. She’s about 50-60 years old, 150 cm tall, curly hair with an black old long coat, holding a Halloween package of candy.

“Do you want to buy a candy for $1? I need $2 to buy a bus ticket,” she said.

I looked at her and realized she didn’t talk to me but to the man who was standing next to me.The man refused to buy that candy, then the woman turned to me and offered me the candies. I said no, quickly.

I only have $5 cash at that time. I don’t put much cash money as usual. I could buy a snack with my debit card on that vending machine, so I didn’t need cash. I got my snack then I moved to another vending to bought a bottle of water.

A moment later, I was having my snack when I saw her standing beside her luggage. She looked sad and worry. It’s about 10 minutes before the bus about to leave. I kept looking at her and decided to buy another snack with my-only-$5-cash. I got my cheap snack and had some changes. I came after her and asked if she still had the $1 candy. She happily nodded and take the same Halloween candy from her purse and I handed her my $1 coin. She smiled and say thank you.

I was standing at one point when I saw her walk to the bus office. She took all money she had into the table. I didn’t know how much the ticket price. I saw some small changes came out from her purse and she started to count the money and gave it to the bus officer.
Few more minutes, she walked out from the office with a big smile and talked happily, not to me, to all the people who were waiting the bus, “I’ve got my ticket! Thank you!”

She looked completely different with a smile on her face. She wasn’t the women I saw few minutes before. She was very happy. I couldn’t say how much happy I was seeing her.

That moment, I just realized that I had spent a very great deal with my $1, a smile on her face.

The Lady in The Office

The Lady in The Office

The Candies

The Candies

Written by gerald

November 2, 2012 at 2:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] postingan gw ke Twin-cities (Minneapolis & St. Paul), Minnesota beberapa waktu lalu, gw sempat ngelakuin […]


Leave a Reply

